Located at Waterloo Rd, Stanhope, NJ 07874. Waterloo Village is an example of a 19th-century canal town. The village was once half-way along the Morris Canal, which connected Jersey City and Phillipsburg. During its heyday, water transportation provided the town with a steady income.
The canal’s location would have made the village a perfect overnight stop for canal workers traveling between Jersey City and Phillipsburg. The town’s historic significance is further demonstrated by the canal’s many relics. Today, the site is home to several buildings that date back to the 1860s.
Visitors can tour the village’s buildings, learn about the history of the area, and view many of its artifacts. The site also has a farm and small animal exhibit, as well as a wheel house. This historic site is also a popular wedding venue. Although it’s not a museum, it offers a unique setting for your special event.
The New Jersey State Park Service operates Waterloo Village. It collaborates with Friends of Waterloo Village Inc., a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. This organization helps raise funds for restoration efforts at the historic site. The historic site is located within Allamuchy Mountain State Park, a 2,440-acre nature preserve. The village includes approximately a dozen historic buildings in Colonial and Victorian styles, as well as mills and a Methodist church. Visitors can also explore the town’s hiking trails and picnic areas.
In the early 1970s, the Waterloo Foundation for the Arts was established to raise funds for the restoration of Waterloo Village. The foundation also sought corporate grants and opened a concert field. Today, the site is open to the public for special events. This includes music and ethnic festivals, as well as antique shows. Another good read
Waterloo Village was an important transport hub during the nineteenth century. It was built by John Smith, who had the vision of making the town a transport hub. Smith constructed the town’s General Store in 1831, built the Morris Canal, and renovated many of the buildings. In 1855, the Morris and Essex Railroad laid tracks through the town. Click to go to home
Waterloo Village is also home to the Rutan Cabin, a replica of an 1800s farm. Moved to the village from Frankford Township, the cabin is now part of the Waterloo Village Historic Site. The restored site features reproductions of 1800s farm life and farming. The Rutan family would have traveled by horse-drawn wagon or ox-drawn cart. Their method of transportation would have been quite primitive, but the Morris Canal helped the area become more efficient. Something else to read
The Waterloo Village Historic Site is open daily, except on Christmas and New Year’s Day. Hours of operation are 11:00 am to 4:00 pm on weekends and noon to 3 pm on weekdays. Hours are also extended on holiday weekends.